My Thoughts: Church

Ah yes, a topic that can cause some controversy and stir the pot a little. Yes, I will be discussing my thoughts on the church today and how I really feel.

I’m going to jump right into things here. First and foremost I do believe in God. But as for the church currently? I don’t like it. I don’t like it one bit. The past couple of churches I’ve been to have had some serious splits and issues. The one I’m at now (which I won’t be there much longer) the Pastor has done a lot of good but the older members seem to wanna run him out and have essentially done that. Which is a shame, but hey they got what they want so they’re probably happy for it. The other church I was at the Pastor had way too much control and essentially ran everyone else off.

I’ve seen this happen twice now and essentially I’m just done with church. I don’t see many churches any more trying to do “the will of God” as so as their doing the will of themselves. Now, not all. This isn’t a full on church bash post as much as me releasing some of my frustrations through this outlet I have here.

Now, in my time at these two different churches I have meet some great people who have become great friends. I’ve also seen these people reach out to do better and seek God, that’s awesome. Those people I admire. And of course, like anywhere else there are also sheep’s in wolves clothing there too.

If you’re reading this you’re probably surprised because chances are you see my tweets and you wouldn’t think I go to church sometimes, and that’s ok because I don’t really portray that. I have to say, a few years back church and God was huge in my life but as life has gone on I’ve seen things go down at churches and in my own life. I’ve been reflecting as to whether this is something worth pursuing or attending and honestly, once I’m done at this church here I’ll probably take quite a break from attending church. I get tired of trying to attend new and different churches and get the vibe that most are fake or possibly judging me. I’ll just do me.

Like I said earlier, I still believe in God. But I’m not that person that will pursue Him like some others will. I’m just going to live my life and do the best that I can. Plus, I don’t feel like I’m being real when I seek Him. I feel like I’m playing some character that isn’t me. I don’t want to do that. I want to be me. The ridiculous person that isn’t afraid to be himself despite what others say.

So, all in all these are my thoughts and frustrations. Have a good day and keep on the look out for more blogs in the future.

About stevenplummer

Hey, I'm Steven. Here I'm just going to share my opinions on a few different topics. To name a few here: life, travel, food and just my thoughts in general. I'm sure I'll touch on other topics as well but I'm just using this to share my opinions and use as an outlet to write. Hope you enjoy.
This entry was posted in My Thoughts, Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

