My Thoughts: The Cost of Living Keeps Rising

https://www.edq.com/data-quality-infographics/cost-of-living-in-america/

I’ve attached a link up at the top. It’s take some of the biggest cities in each state and gives a breakdown of the average cost it takes to live in each city. What you’ll want to do is once on the site click on the large graph (you can’t miss it) and it’ll give you the option to zoom in on each city. Follow the directions at the top to understand better the graph.

Now, after explaining that I want to talk about something that is affecting a lot of people here in America. It’s the cost of living. It seems like more and more people aren’t able to move out and begin their own life because wages aren’t keeping up with the cost of living these days. And it really, really sucks.

I’ve been recommended to finish college. Which I wouldn’t mind but it costs so much and I’m not that great at school. I have ADHD (diagnosed in 3rd grade with it). So I become distracted super easily and will lose interest in being in a class after maybe 20 minutes. I’m not trying to make any excuses, but school has always been difficult for me. I mean in 5th grade without medication I was a C and F student. With medication that year I made A’s, B’s and a few C’s. I also know I can get help for school but I don’t want to risk taking loans just to pay them back and possibly never finish school.

Also, it seems more difficult for anyone to land a job without “experience”. I hate this fucking excuse. No one seems to want to train anyone anymore. They either hope the person has this certain amount of experience or some sort of school. Not everyone is made for school or has the luxury to have that training. So, it’s frustrating to see a job that I could be good at but they won’t hire me because I don’t have “experience”. How about you stop being fucking lazy and train the person. They could be one of your best assets and you’ll pass by them because lack of “experience”. Fuck outta her with that.

Ok, now that I chased that rabbit trail, back on topic. The cost of living seems to only be rising these days. It sucks. If you’re trying to make it on your own these days it seems to only be harder than ever. There are more things to have to pay for than ever before. It just sucks. There are people working 2 or 3 jobs just to try to make ends meet. That’s ridiculous! 3 jobs?! Come on now! The cost of living doesn’t need to be this high. This is ridiculous. Everyone deserves to have the opportunity to live on their own but that seems to be in the rearview mirror these days and it’s sad. Really sad. I hate it and I wish it would change.

About stevenplummer

Hey, I'm Steven. Here I'm just going to share my opinions on a few different topics. To name a few here: life, travel, food and just my thoughts in general. I'm sure I'll touch on other topics as well but I'm just using this to share my opinions and use as an outlet to write. Hope you enjoy.
This entry was posted in My Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

